23 Feb 2022 / Online

Cybersecurity and the politics of knowledge production


How can we produce diverse and relevant knowledge in and about cybersecurity?

Epistemic pluralism and engagement are core scholarly values that make for the relevance of academic research. Yet, they pose their own challenges and dilemmas in research where established scholarly traditions, policy constraints, and technical competence may clash and lead to segmentation. This roundtable brings together scholars from different European institutions who cross the boundaries of disciplinary and policy fields, with the aim to develop a reflexive approach to cybersecurity knowledge production. We do so by a collective interrogation of such positionality, its structural conditions and practices, as well as of the potential for intersectional encounters and categories of analysis that can inform current and future research agendas.

Through short lightning talks, roundtable speakers will each introduce a different issue related to knowledge production in cybersecurity, then followed by a debate with the other participants. The outcome of this collective and reflexive conversation will be published in the form of a journal’s forum discussion at a later stage.


This event will be held online via MS Teams. You can register here to receive the link to attend.


13:00-13:10 | Welcome and opening remarks (Fabio Cristiano and Xymena Kurowska)

13:10-13:40 | Issue 1 - Temporality (Tim Stevens + debate)

13:40-14:10 | Issue 2 - Gender and intersectionality (Julia Slupska + debate)

14:10-14:40 | Issue 3 - Expertise (Louise Marie Hurel + debate)

14:40-15:00 | Break

15:00-15:30 | Issue 4 - Policy encounters (Myriam Dunn Cavelty + debate)

15:30-16:00 | Issue 5 - Diplomatic encounters (Dennis Broeders + debate)

16:00-16:30 | Issue 6 - Military and intelligence encounters (Tobias Liebetrau + debate)

16:30-17:00 | Issue 7 - Other academic encounters (James Shires + debate)


Fabio Cristiano (chair), Leiden University

Xymena Kurowska (chair), Central European University

Dennis Broeders, Leiden University

Myriam Dunn Cavelty, ETH Zürich

Louise Marie Hurel, London School of Economics

Julia Slupska, Oxford University

Tobias Liebetrau, Sciences Po

James Shires, Leiden University

Tim Stevens, King's College London